Saturday, September 8, 2012

Review & Giveaway - Throne of Glass.

Mary and I inhale fantasy reads but oh wow, we couldn't get enough of Throne of Glass. I highlighted so many lines from the book just so I could go back and reread them. We were so excited when one of our favorite bookish friend told us Sarah Maas was going to be at Vroman's in Pasadena. Check out our pics from the event, read Mary's gush-worthy review and don't forget to enter our giveaway.

Sarah J Maas is just... wow!! There’s been a lot of buzz going on about Throne of Glass and now I understand what all the fuss is about. If you love fantasy, read this book!!! Fans of Graceling and Girl of Fire and Thorns will definitely eat this up! Strong, ass-kicking heroine, romance, mystery, magic. Also, there was this perfect balance of dialogue, action, and narrative reflection that made for a fast pace and kept me from wanting to take any reading breaks. There is no doubt that this title has become my favorite book of the year.

The story begins with the main character, eighteen year old Celaena Sardothien (there’s a pronunciation guide available on the author’s website, by the way), being released from prison after a year of suffering for crimes as an assassin. She is given a choice by the Prince: compete against other criminals to become the King’s champion and serve as his royal assassin for three years before earning her freedom, or return to prison where she most likely will not survive another year. I absolutely fell in love with Celaena! As tough and fierce as she is, she has this tenderness and vulnerability that makes me want to just protect her from anything that might break her, just like how both Prince Dorian and Captain Chaol Westfall must have felt. The Prince is definitely charming and has a way with women, but he’s also kind-hearted and generous. He seems sincere with Celaena. He’s funny, too! He made me crack up so many times. Then there’s Chaol, the handsome and serious Captain of the Guard, who trains Celaena and doesn’t hesitate to put her in her place. But they seem to understand and even trust one another. His protectiveness of Celaena is endearing and I love how much he believes in her. Celaena is smart and super funny, and she has a good heart. I rooted for her every step of the way and her story both warmed and chilled my heart.

Throne of Glass is filled with an awesome cast of characters and a brilliantly written plot that will surely keep you on your toes. When I finished reading the book, I was so sad (not that there was a cliffhanger or anything). I just wished it could keep going or that I hadn’t read it yet so that I could experience it again for the first time. It was one of those books! I am definitely going to keep up with this series. I fell in love with Celaena’s story and Sarah’s writing and I’m anxious to read more. So, until then, I’m going to read the four novella’s that prequel this book. Read Throne of Glass. You will not regret it! Love love love!!!

-Review by Mary

Jenn's side note: What Mary said! I aboso-freaking-lutely loved this book. I immediately took a liking to one of the main characters but seriously, it was such a wonderful book. It was such an honor meeting Sarah Maas. She's pretty amazing herself, I look forward to reading the rest of her series Fan forever!

Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Release Date: August 7, 2012 Series: Series
Pages: 416 Genre:
Fantasy



 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


22 comments:

  1. I was so sad I couldn't enjoy this book! D: Someone will have to tell me what happens in the next one, lol ;) I still want to know.

    ReplyDelete
  2. WOW~ I want to read this book!! It sounds very interesting :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Is it an international giveaway or just for U.S citizens?

    ReplyDelete
  4. @Alethea, oh that's too bad.

    @Anastasia, it is a US only giveaway, i.e., We can only mail it to an address in the US. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. This book has been getting rave reviews and I think it sounds really great! Thanks for the chance :0)

    Oh, and my most recent fantasy read was Defiance by CJ Redwine, which was really great!

    ReplyDelete
  6. i love a good fantasy and have ha my eye on this for a while!

    ReplyDelete
  7. i just finished this one and really liked it. i had some issues with certain things but, overall, really enjoyed it. and can i please have chaol?

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ooh, fantasy! I like! Can't wait to read this book!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love fantasy reads! My recent one was Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore. :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hello :) I'm Sarah, as shown by my username. I like the author's name, too ;)

    The last purely fantasy novel I read was Graceling, if you don't group paranormal with fantasy. Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Hi! My recent fantasy read was probably Mark of the Princess by B.C. Morin. Throne of Glass looks exciting!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I love fantasy books and Throne of Glass seems absolutely cool :) I'd really like to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Awesome review! :) I can't wait to read this book! I'm a major fan of the pure fantasy genre, and it's so hard to find really good YA books that stick to the genre, so I'm really excited for Throne of Glass! It's right up my alley!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I most recently read Bitterblue but I'm about to start rereading the abhorrent trilogy by Garth Nix.

    ReplyDelete
  15. And autocorrect fail. Abhorsen.

    ReplyDelete
  16. *waves* Hi! :)
    Just finished reading Dust & Decay last evening. Love them zombies lol
    Thank you for the wonderful giveaway <3
    Mary DeBorde M.A.D.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I can't even remember the last pure fantasy book I read... But I'm pretty sure it was Fire by Kristen Cashore. Reading Throne of Glass will be such a fresh breath of air! It's been too long! D:

    ReplyDelete
  18. Hi ! My latest fantasy read is A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Loved this book. Totally jealous of the signing, too - it looks like fun. :)

    And my most recent fantasy read was actually ToG, coincidentally.

    ReplyDelete
  20. Well I hope you ladies will be able to make it to the OC Children's Book Festival again - Sarah is on our Teen & YA Stage - it won't be the same without you! ;)

    Robyn
    http://kidsbookfestival.com

    ReplyDelete

We love comments!